Dear, Anxiety – you’re still an asshole.

lock-and-key-swirls-tattoo-designs

Within the silent shadowy tomb protected by my psyche,
Uncertainty grows.
It’s not time to analyze and paralyze, yet it feeds nonetheless,
Like a ravenous vulture…

Sucking up little morsels of anxiety and doubt-
Mushrooming them into catastrophic conclusions.

Oozing its septicity from its tiny cell,
It infects the core of me and sets my thoughts afire.
I sing it soothing words, hoping to calm the beast.
Still it attaches to stray thoughts and amplifies itself.
It feels like my heart is being pulled into my stomach.

I breathe and reassure myself that this is all purposeless,
There are no actions to take.

Yet it festers and pesters and fails to slow.
Bringing with it impairment…
Or is its presence simultaneous to them?

No evidence – no solution.
Restraint fails.
Paranoia grows.
Why not, add it to the pile,
It’s not like we need elbow room in here anyway.

Go ahead, weave your webs,
Plant your seeds of doubt.
Take my breath and balance.

I’ll just adapt and survive…
And in the end,
Remind you that you’re still an asshole.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Yes, anxiety is a very underrated entity that is capable of destroying a person completely from within, I feel that society as a whole should awake to the true devasting magnitude that anxiety can cause in an individual’s life. Thanks for sharing such an insightful post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

