Mask Reveals Masks Reveal Masks

Street-artist-Phlegm-reveals-what-happens-behind-the-mask-that-most-people-wear-in-life

I see your polished surface,
Such beauty and certainty.

I start to smile, but then I wonder…

Is it the same in your heart?
Or is your show a farce?

Are you hiding the venom you hold inside?

Waiting…  just long enough to hook me

So that you can destroy me.

Then allow all those I’m not enough for

To use me as a bridge to cross the muddy waters.

I see your face,
I think I see your heart,
But I’ve been duped before.

It’s like slots…
I will keep pulling the lever to lose,

But walk away when I’m guaranteed the next pull wins.

Because every time I’ve believed,
I’ve felt the sting that follows trusting that I am enough.

Leave a Reply

